New guy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New guy

Hey everyone, I'm Mike. I've known about this site for a few years now, but meeting some Lufkin people (jonboy, George) and just being plain cheap (wanted a discount on my clear bra install) finally got me to join!

Background:

I'm from Houston but I live in Lufkin. My wife and I both went to school at UT Austin, so we're very fond of the hill country. We have a wonderful 4 month old son, which means mods are on hold for a while. I'm a mechanical engineer that likes to get greasy, and my wife is a teacher enforcing her own early retirement from the extreme stress of the classroom.

I drive a 2003 GPW AP1 that I bought after my 95 Civic's 3rd built engine blew its ring lands. After 3 complete engine builds, a few stints with bad tuners, and 2 complete suspension setups, I figured it was time to lay the Civic to rest. It was a total sleeper- white EG sedan with no signs of mods from the outside except for Integra GSR wheels and an exhaust tip- but could run circles around C5 Vettes all day long. All motor too. Fun. It's up on jack stands being torn apart to pay for the S2000 now.

On other things, I've been playing with cars for about 15 years now, and I do a lot of my own wrenchwork. I don't like other people to touch my cars unless I really trust them- and that takes a lot. I'd rather buy the tools myself and figure it out before I hand the car to someone I don't know.

I'm a current administrator for HondaSwap, and I used to help run CivicLand as an admin when it was a huge Civic resource a few years back.

Anyway, I've been reading through a lot of the threads, and I'm glad to finally be a member of the site- and I'm looking forward to hopefully meeting some of you in person soon! I might be able to make the Austin meet in August. I hope.

Oh, videos of runs through wonderful Austin twisties to come soon... plus a dead raccoon.